(last updated 11/13/2019)
Missouri Payday Loan Laws and Regulations in (MO)
Payday loans and cash advances are legal in Missouri. The Missouri Division of Finance has been regulating Payday Loans and Cash Advances since 1990. As of 01/01/2015 there were 270 licensed lenders and 865 licensed locations in Missouri.
The maximum payday loan allowed in Missouri is $500. The maximum payday loan as a percentage of income is not specified. The number of loans that can be open at one time is no more than $500 to any one lender at one time. The maximum permissible fees allowed in Missouri is 75% of the initial loan amount for lifetime of loan including all renewals. The cooling off or waiting period for obtaining another loan is 0 days. The number of rollovers that are permitted is 6, borrower must reduce principal by at least 5% with each rollover. The minimum loan term is 14 days. The maximum loan term is 31 days.
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in Missouri, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the Missouri Division of Finance.
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all, or none of the the regulations set by the state of Missouri. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nation (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua