(last updated 11/13/2019)
Wyoming Payday Loan Laws and Regulations in (WY)
Payday loans and cash advances are legal in Wyoming. The Wyoming Division of Banking has been regulating Payday Loans and Cash Advances since 1981. As of 12/18/2014 there were 41 licensed lenders and 78 licensed locations in Wyoming.
The maximum payday loan allowed in Wyoming is not specified. The maximum payday loan as a percentage of income is not specified. The number of loans that can be open at one time is not specified. The maximum permissible fees allowed in Wyoming is the greater of 20% per month or $30 for a $100 14 day loan, the maximum APR for a $100 14 day loan is 780%. The cooling off or waiting period for obtaining another loan is 0 days. The number of rollovers that are permitted is 0 (cannot repay, refinance or consolidate by proceeds of another loan). The minimum loan term is 14 days. The maximum loan term is 1 calendar month.
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in Wyoming, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the Wyoming Division of Banking.
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all, or none of the regulations and laws set by the state of Wyoming. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nation (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua.