(last updated 11/13/2019)
Florida Payday Loan Laws and Regulations in (FL)
Payday loans and cash advances are legal in Florida. The Florida Office of Financial Resolution has been regulating Payday Loans and Cash Advances since 2001. As of 9/11/2014 there were an unspecified number of licensed lenders and 1100 licensed locations in Florida.
The maximum payday loan allowed in Florida is $500. The maximum payday loan as a percentage of income is not specified. The number of loans that can be open at one time is 1. The maximum permissible fees allowed in Florida is $5.00 verification fee and 10% of the amount borrowed. The cooling off or waiting period for obtaining another loan is 1 business days. The number of rollovers that are permitted is 0 (cannot rollover). The minimum loan term is 7 days. The maximum loan term is 31 days.
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in Florida, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the Florida Office of Financial Resolution.
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all, or none of the regulations and laws set by the state of California. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nations (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua.