(last updated 11/13/2019)
Utah Payday Loan Laws and Regulations in (UT)
Payday loans and cash advances are legal in Utah. The Utah Department of Financial Institutions has been regulating Payday Loans and Cash Advances since 2008. As of 09/17/2014 there were 8 licensed lenders and 244 licensed locations in Utah.
The maximum payday loan allowed in Utah is not specified. The maximum payday loan as a percentage of income is not specified. The number of loans that can be open at one time is not specified. The maximum permissible fees allowed in Utah is not specified. The cooling off or waiting period for obtaining another loan is 0 days. The number of rollovers that are permitted is not specified (cannot extend or renew loan more than 10 weeks from original loan date). The minimum loan term is not specified. The maximum loan term is may not exceed 10 weeks.
This information is for informational purposes only. Although care has been taken to accurately describe the laws and regulations in Utah, no guarantees are implied or expressed about its accuracy. This is not legal advice. If you need legal advice, please consult an attorney or the Utah Department of Financial Institutions.
The following classes of lending organizations may be exempt from some, all, or none of the regulations and laws set by the state of Utah. Federally chartered banks, state chartered banks, credit unions and some entities organized under the laws of a sovereign nation (for example) a Native American Tribe or the country of Antigua.